Loose Women Dyslexia Debate

Thirty years ago, it was estimated that one in 25 children had some form of dyslexia. Now, the diagnosis is much more common, estimated to affect as many as one in eight children. Professor of education at Durham University, Julian Elliott, says that diagnosing a child with dyslexia is no more scientific than reading a horoscope, and in fact, labelling a child dyslexic could be doing more harm than good. Is dyslexia a label too far?

Loose Women via Facebook from 23 April 2014.

My response to this follows below:

‘I can assure you, dyslexia is very real! As someone who wasn’t diagnosed with dyslexia until they were an adult, I found myself struggling through school before dropping out due to the lack of support. I am currently in my final year of an undergraduate degree at university thanks to the help I have been given after my diagnosis.

People who are dismissing dyslexia are the ones holding the progression within the education system to support people like myself who loved to learn, but found the schooling system hell on earth due to the lack of understanding, recognition and support!

Yes, all dyslexics have different difficulties. For me, I struggle with visual the most, I also have Irlen Syndrome. Reading actually causes me physical pain! I regularly have eyestrain (despite having prescription glasses) and suffer from headaches and migraines frequently. I learn far better when listening and discussing topics rather than reading or writing about them. There are also frustrations through an inability to express myself properly through the written word and sometimes verbally. Because I struggle with reading, big academic words pass me by, so my arguments sound like that of a child rather than that of an educated 30 year old.

Rather than constantly sticking to the negatives associated with dyslexia, like a broken record, why not celebrate the POSITIVES! Some of the greatest thinkers and business people have/had dyslexia, including Albert Einstein, Thomas Edison, Richard Branson, Stephen Spielberg to name a few!!! Sure some of us struggle with reading, some with writing, spelling, timekeeping and organisation, left and right, etc BUT because we’ve had to learn to adapt, because we think in a different way, surely dyslexia is something to be embraced in moving things forwards in a different way rather than restricting us?

“Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited to all we now know and understand, while imagination embraces the entire world, and all there ever will be to know and understand.” ― Albert Einstein, dyslexic, scientist, the E=MC2 dude!’

Posted on April 25, 2014, in Awareness, Personal Experience and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thank you for your thoughts. It means a lot to hear a new and passionate perspective that really addresses an issue that is in their heart and affects others. Keeping shattering the lies and fighting for equality.

    Like

    • Thank you for your comment 🙂 I think it’s very important to give a voice to dyslexia. I think a lot of people with dyslexia struggle to express themselves through the written form so if I can help to shatter that barrier so more people are comfortable to share their experiences. I think the more people speak out, the more our voices HAVE to be heard! And hopefully this blog will raise a little bit of awareness 🙂

      Like

      • I think that you will accomplish more than just a little bit of awareness, so long as you keep at it. I also suffer with migraines and strained eyes from reading my college text books. Although, I must admit that mine are because of a car accident that I was in when I was seven that required brain surgery. However, my mother suffers from dyslexia so, I am well acquainted with not only the stigma but also the hardships that people face.

        Thank you for doing what you are doing.

        Like

  2. great piece! I missed the show put was trying to find to watch back. I made a documentary recently about being a dyslexic writer if of interest 🙂 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9Dza5WwaV0

    Like

Your comments

