Dyslexia Awareness Month: My Top 5 Books

I never really enjoyed reading when my friends at school started chomping through them. I never associated ‘book’ with ‘pleasure’ like my best friend at school who loved her Jane Austen books after watching the BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. It took me until I was 15 or 16 when I discovered Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets at the library in school that I began to understand why people like reading a book. Now I have hundreds of them! I haven’t read them all mind you! A lot of them have been used for university studies and I will have only read a specific section of the book.

Here are a section of books that I have really enjoyed! Some of them I have read more than once!!! These books are perhaps aimed more towards teenage and adult audiences, so if you’re looking for books for your dyslexic kids to read, they won’t be suitable on the whole. 

My collection of Northlanders Books

My collection of Northlanders Books

1. Northlanders – Now I don’t see why graphic novels should be seen as any less worthy than a book without pictures. The Northlanders series was absolutely fantastic! I read each book in the evening on which I purchased each individual book. Highly addictive, great artwork and though they are fictional, they are surprisingly accurate to the history of the time period. I love Viking related stuff (as I drink from my Viking mug) and I do get a bit funny when depictions are poorly executed. These books are pretty spot on! They are for a mature audience though, I’d leave these for older teenagers and adults.

2. Fight Club – A book made into a movie where both book and movie are amazing! One of my favourite movies and one of my favourite books. Yes, there are differences between the two. There are things that work better on page than in film and vice versa. I actually used this book for my Higher English course, though I won’t say what the topic was as I don’t want to spoil the book for those who haven’t read it or seen the movie. If you have seen the movie and enjoyed it, read the book! It’s great!

3. Interview with the Vampire and The Vampire Lestat – I didn’t want to separate these two as they are part of a series. I never finished reading Queen of the Damned or the others in the series, but intend to get around to it at some point in the future. I didn’t like any of the movies linked to the books at all! I read Interview with the Vampire three times plus The Vampire Lestat before I watched the movies and the characters just were so far off what I had imagined. Now I like Brad Pitt, Christian Slater, Tom Cruise et al as actors, but it still just didn’t work for me. The books are far superior! The Vampire Chronicles were some of the first books I read for pleasure in my late teens, which is why I’ve read them so many times over.

4. Nineteen Eighty-Four and Animal Farm – I’m cheating here, as they are not part of a series, but I did read both Orwell books back to back and thoroughly enjoyed them! In fact, I read Nineteen Eighty-Four over a week and loved it so much I read Animal Farm right after and finished it in a day. I really need to get around to reading more of Orwell’s works, as I am a big fan of these two books!

The Mabinogion, or more correctly The Mabinogi

The Mabinogion, or more correctly, The Mabinogi

5. The Mabinogi – My absolute favourite book that we had to read for university. We only read the Four Branches of the Mabinogi and not the related stories at the back of the book. I absolutely adore the strong female characters in the book, especially Rhiannon! She is just all sorts of awesome! After I read this book I just wouldn’t shut up about it. I think a few of my peers at uni got a little bit annoyed at my ranting on about it. Fantastic stuff! Who thought Medieval literature could be so modern!

Posted on October 12, 2014, in Awareness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your comments

