Dyslexia and Me: It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like…

…My organisational skills need a good brush up!

Oh dear, well I haven’t been blogging a lot lately. Trying to find time when working a full-time job is proving to be pretty difficult. Especially when looking for a new job, plus starting a new blog and trying to create a new Twitter dyslexia chat… 

I should probably try to stop taking on so many projects at once!

However, the one thing I am doing well with is the dreaded ‘C’ word. That day in December that the media and shops go on about from July onwards. You know the one. For the first time ever, I have actually done at least half my shopping for presents by mid November! I’m one of these people who puts it off until the last-minute because I hate shopping and because I’ve never managed to get myself organised in time. I do recall going shopping on ‘C’ word Eve (yes, I will be referring to it as ‘C’ word because it’s still only November) with a family friend who, like me, is very disorganised. He is also dyslexic. It was a very stressful experience and I said that I would never leave it that late again. However, it was a lot quieter than when I’ve gone shopping earlier in December.

Why am I even discussing this?

Well someone at work mentioned ‘Black Friday’ is this week. Something I had never heard anyone talk about here in the UK until the last couple of years. I believe it’s the day when a lot of people get all their ‘C’ word shopping done (or at least started). So for once I am feeling a bit more organised knowing I have done the vast majority of my shopping before now.

It’s not just the blog and the ‘C’ word where I find my organisational skills go a bit AWOL. You can perhaps tell this from some of the structures of my blogs as my brain wanders off on many tangents…

I am not the best at planning or structuring how I work. I come up with an idea that I think will work brilliantly until I realise later on, I should have probably started earlier. Essays planning at university being one of those things! I would read loads of material for the knowledge but leave it too late to structure and write the essay itself. That’s why when I started my dissertation I was batting around ideas for over a year. I did LOADS of reading for it! Taking on such a big project improved my organisation skills a lot.

My room as a kid and a teenager (who am I kidding, even as a student) was always a bombsight! It used to drive my mum crazy. But when I put things away, I could never find them! I think the combination of struggles with organisation and short-term memory issues is key to why I am so messy. That and I am really bad for hoarding things (CDs, DVDs, books, etc).

However, there have been times where I have been very organised!

It’s usually when it comes to things I am very passionate about. Being a DJ on the radio was a great experience for me! I was writing a lot of emails, keeping track of the music played on the show and had to make up a playlist each week with about 45 minutes worth of music. I really thrived with that doing that and making sure everything was prepared in time. I miss being on the radio so much, that really was my ideal job (even if it was voluntary).

I was the same with the Rock and Metal Society at university. I was so passionate about it that when I took over as president things began to run a lot more smoothly with organising events and promoting in advance. Working with a small group of people in a committee can be challenging at times, but when things worked, they worked well. It was such a valuable experience, I’d love to do it all over again (well, from when I was president onwards).

Dyslexia isn’t just about reading and writing. For me it’s visual, memory and organisation that I really have to work hard at. I think I’ve had so much going on in the last few months I haven’t been able to use my usual tricks to keep me on track. I have reminders on my computer at work to tell me I have 5 minutes before my break or lunch so I don’t forget, which other members of staff think is great and have asked me how to do it on their computers.

I used to have my phone and email for university synced up so that I could remind myself of when I had class and which classroom I was meant to be in (remembering a couple of letters for the building and the number for the room combined always slipped my memory unless I had it noted down). It was far more affective than my paper diary that I had because my phone would buzz and make a sound to remind me I had to leave the flat for class at a certain time to make sure I wasn’t late!

It’s early for the ‘C’ word, but even more early to think of New Year’s Resolutions. However, I think that in 2015 I will need to get back on track with organisation so I’m not late for posting up blogs for you guys to read!!!

P.S. If you enjoy reading my blog, please vote for me in the UK Blog Awards! All the details can be found here:
https://thedyslexicstudent.wordpress.com/2014/11/10/ukba15-uk-blog-awards-2015

Posted on November 25, 2014, in Awareness, Education and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I have problems with organization, too. I try to plan blog posts a good week in advance, but it doesn’t always work. My biggest weakness is in time management and getting enough willpower to actually stick with a self imposed schedule, which is why I haven’t had the chance to schedule more posts for this week.

    2015 is one in which I’ll be working on that, since I’m aiming to get at least one story published that year.

    Like

  2. I’m the opposite when it comes to tidying as everything has it’s usual place where it lives and I put it back there apart from the random shelf were passing things get dumped. It’sstrange how well memory and organisation works when we are really pationate about something, maybe because ALL of our comcentration i on it. [typed without auto correct for onec.]

    Like

Your comments

