Dyslexia and Me: Busy Bee Vision

Honeycomb Lenses

Honeycomb Lenses

I have previously discussed the new glasses I received from my optician with prisms put into them. They really haven’t made any difference to my vision despite it seeming very different when I was in the optician’s chair. I am very open to trying a variety of lenses to see if I can find a solution to my visual problems.

I was talking to a lovely optician called Robert Longhurst on one of the Facebook dyslexia groups about visual dyslexia. He asked me if I had tried honeycomb lenses to reduce my migraines. I had never even heard of honeycomb lenses before!!!

We discussed the options my optician had given me with the prisms, the educational psychologist and learning support people ruling our Irlen lenses and other options that people have suggested to me in the past. Robert was very nice and sent me some honeycomb lenses to try out and I jumped at the opportunity of trying something new. 

I received the lenses today (see my photo) and will be giving them a try as I found that I can tick all of the 6 signs that honeycomb lenses may help!

  • 1. You suffer with migraine, especially migraine with aura
    For many, migraine is triggered by disruptive sensory input. More specifically, flicker has been shown to precipitate migraine. Honeycomb lenses dampen flicker and can prevent migraines.
  • 2. You have visual dyslexia
    Those with visual dyslexia often describe seeing patterns like rivers on the page, and sometimes see text as moving. While coloured lenses often work, they aren’t discreet and some people don’t like wearing them. Honeycomb lenses are completely inconspicuous and can work just as well as coloured lenses.
  • 3. You can hear fluorescent lights
    Some people with sensitivity can see and hear fluorescent lights as they flicker on and off. This can be extremely distracting. In addition to dampening flicker, Honeycomb lenses protect your eyes from electromagnetic radiation and should stop this happening.
  • 4. You hate being in supermarkets
    “Supermarket syndrome” is a term used to describe the disorientation and light-headedness some people feel while under supermarket lighting. A more accurate term for this syndrome is the ‘Bucha effect.’ Honeycomb lenses can prevent supermarket syndrome.
  • 5. You don’t like stripy patterns
    Some people find stripy patterns aversive. This is particularly true of stripes of a certain width and spacing, and when viewed from a certain distance. Those that dislike stripy patterns may be suffering from ‘pattern glare.’ Drivers may find the road markings approaching a roundabout particularly bothersome, and the metal bars across escalator stairs are also the right distance apart to cause problems. Honeycomb lenses have been shown to prevent pattern glare.
  • 6. You hate driving at night
    Many people find driving at night difficult, due to oncoming headlight glare. Standard anti-reflection coatings do not help much, but Honeycomb lenses can make a difference! In addition to having advanced anti-reflection properties, Honeycomb lenses also channel the light, reducing the glare.

Ok, so number 6 isn’t entirely correct, because I can’t drive, but I do struggle as a passenger!

I can notice a small difference reading using the lenses but as we don’t have the fluorescent lighting in our house like I do at work, I will be taking them to work to try out tomorrow!

I have found at work that the blue screen really isn’t working as well as it was before so I am hoping that the lenses will prove to be a positive alternative. I will keep you all updated on this.

If you have any other recommendations you think I should try, let me know and I will write a post about the results.

Check out the Visual Dyslexia website here: http://www.visualdyslexiacentre.co.uk

Posted on December 3, 2014, in Education and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Huh! I’ve never heard of those before, either. I’ll be watching to see if they help you. I have issues with all of those points, too. I hadn’t realized that others could actually hear florescent lights, or had the same problems in supermarkets.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. See Right Dyslexia Glasses that are universal visual dyslexia glasses are likely to help , have a money back guarantee and are available from dyslexiaglasses.com .

    Like

Your comments

