Why One Tweet ‘Made My Life’

Well done, @DyslexiaAndMe. You’re who I hope all my kids become when they grow up. #SpedChat #1in5 #youarearockstar #dyslexiaisnotwhoyouare

I joined #SpedChat at almost 3am GMT as I hadn’t heard of it before and I LOVE Twitter chat’s that discuss anything to do with dyslexia or learning disabilities in general. And this one Tweet just made me so happy.

The reason I started blogging was in hope to inspire people with dyslexia to go back into education, if that was what they wanted to do. I’ve started speaking out a lot more on topics that I feel need to be addressed in regards to dyslexia (such as more support for adults or support in the workplace), but initially I just hoped that another person would stumble on the blog and go ‘if she can do it, so can I’. So this one Tweet just made this blogging journey all worthwhile.

Eh… but don’t worry! I’m gonna keep blogging and pushing the topics I feel need to be addressed to the forefront! I’ll keep joining in Twitter chats giving my 2 pennies worth on various topics that relate to dyslexia!

But honestly, I am so humbled by that. It’s made me glad I started blogging! Thank you so much kind Tweeter for making me smile 🙂

Posted on February 11, 2015, in Awareness, Blogging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank YOU. For not giving up. For not giving in. For going out on a limb. For using your story to inspire others.

    Do you know how many kids I run across on any given day who’ve just never had anyone inspire them from a perspective with which they could empathize and so internalize and use to stoke the fire they felt before they first got their asses kicked by text and society’s insane insistence that it is all and everything? Too many.

    Thank you for shining a light from the summit that they might one day look up and follow. I should say, “You’re welcome,” since you certainly are and propriety insists on it. But I can still only thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There’s still a long way to go to reach the summit, both on my journey and in supporting dyslexics in education and in work.

      I think the more people speak out, the more others will need to listen and make changes happen. Parents and teachers are doing a brilliant job (Decoding Dyslexia are heroes in my eyes) but there’s no one championing those who have left high school and that needs to change.

      I would love to see figures to see how many unemployed people (like myself) are dyslexic. I know there’s a huge percentage of people in prisons that have dyslexia. If this was addressed earlier would the situation have arisen? And for those who are in those situations, there needs to be far more help and support.

      Dyslexia’s for life, not just in education.

      Liked by 1 person

Your comments

