#blogging4charity – F is for Football

I’ve always been a bit of a tomboy. Two of my favourite pastimes are metal music and football (aka soccer). I have memories of sitting on my dad’s shoulders going into the football ground at Tynecastle Stadium, the home of my main team, Heart of Midlothian FC. I must have been 4 or 5 years old. I remember standing on the terracing before the stadium was changed to being fully seated. 

I used to play football too. I wasn’t very good mind you, but I was a defender. I wasn’t afraid to try to get the ball off of other players rather than trying to score goals, probably because my dyspraxia meant my aim at goal was usually pretty rubbish. I can remember wanting to be the first female player for Hearts, though I think once I started playing on the school team in primary school I changed my mind.

We used to go to Tynecastle to see Hearts playing many times over the years. Mostly friendly games or cup games as it was an expensive day out and my dad used to work on Saturdays. I’ve been to Hampden Park, Parkhead and Ibrox to cheer my team on in the cup. I was at Parkhead when Hearts won the Scottish Cup in 1998 and I have held and kissed the cup while it was at Tynecastle.

I did say Hearts are my main team, but I also support Sheffield Wednesday and Liverpool due to family links. Sadly, I have never seen either of them in a stadium, only on TV. It is my goal (see what I did there?) to see both teams at their home grounds at some point.

There has been a lot of discussion about sexism in football on the news this last week. I have never experienced sexism at a match, but I have had a lot of people come out with sexist comments when I’ve mentioned my love of footy. I’ve also had people assume I only support a team cause I have a crush on one of the players on the team.

However, I think that the support given to Ann Budge since she took over at Hearts has shown that sexism doesn’t have a place among the true fans. ‘Queen Ann’ as many fondly call her saved our club and that deserves a lot of respect.

Here are some photos of my supporting my teams.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How To Donate

Please remember that all these blog posts are to raise money for the British Dyslexia Association. You can donate as little as £1 or $1.

To donate to #blogging4charity, visit my JustGiving page at https://www.justgiving.com/Blog4Char2015. There you can donate from most countries within your own currency.

If you are in the UK you can donate by SMS by texting DAMF51 £1 to 70070. £1 is a guided amount as it is the lowest you can donate in £s. Please note, this is UK ONLY!

Posted on March 7, 2015, in #blogging4charity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Way way back in the day I used to be a Spurs supporter and I do mean back in the day. Around 40 years back in the day. I really got into football between the ages of 14 to 17 maybe. I went to all the matches I could. At that age and on the north London estate I lived on you had to be into football or else you were a target for everyone on the estate who was a football supporter. My mates became my family for a while because my relationship with my dad was non existent. I don’t really follow football now apart from watching some Scottish international matches on the telly. Anyways good luck with your charity blogging you are doing a fabby job for all us dyslexics.

    Like

Your comments

