#blogging4charity – M is for Memory

When I was 10 I sang this on stage for three nights in a row in a school concert. I wasn’t going to be given the part. I auditioned for so many different parts, but the music teacher didn’t want any of the p6 students to take any of the main parts. Any time there were auditions there was the same girls going forward and rejected because she only wanted p7s to get the parts. 

Eventually she realised that there were no more p7s going to come forward that could hit the notes. She gave in and gave me the part. After that she took on two other girls from my class who had consistently auditioned with me from p6. While every night I shared the stage with a p7 girl singing Memory, the other two had one night each as solo and the final night as a duet. It seemed sad that the teacher was unprepared to give the parts to people who obviously had the talents just because they were not the age she’d have preferred.

I was constantly up on stage as a kid. I was in 3 variety shows too. The first time performing a piece of music I wrote and then two songs that I sang the two years after that. I was in the school choir in primary and high school, but I tended to avoid being in the school bands and choirs in high school. It just wasn’t as fun as it had been in primary school. I did sing in some big venues around the city though.

I was also in a couple of bands who performed too. There were many reasons why it ended the way it did, but I think musical direction would have eventually killed it off. I’ve always wanted to get back into music, but it left a very bitter taste in my mouth.

In p7 we were given loads of Scottish poetry at school. Our teacher wanted us to memorise them and perform them to parents. I loved performing and choose one where I had to act as a child who wanted a dog (or a dug). I performed it with a boy in my class and he performed as my dad who was reluctant to buy me a dug! It worked very well and we had a very good chemistry for performing.

I think because I loved poetry so much, I did end up memorising it, though it took a lot of effort. There was another poem that someone in the class dropped because they found it too hard to memorise about a train journey to Kirkcaldy. I loved the poem so I volunteered to do that one too. So I was performing TWO pieces of poetry and my ‘dad’ from the dug poem was also my ‘dad’ on the train in a silent part tutting at me for my excitement. My best friend played my mum who also had a silent part. I had so much fun and we got some laughs out of the performances.

Just to be even cheekier, I also performed a piece of music on my tin whistle at the performance too. Couldn’t keep me off the stage! I had to memorise 2 poems and a tune!

My short-term memory is really bad. Today I had planned on writing a blog away from the alphabet as I have been the last two Sundays, but I completely forgot about it and needed to do some research first. I blame Aidan Turner being on TV for my forgetting…

However, my long-term memory is pretty good. I know where I sat in primary 1, I remember the tin of Tate and Lyle Golden Syrup that used to sit on a shelf in the nursery I went to when I was 3. Learning poetry and songs would take a while to sink in, but I still remember a number of lines and the whole poem one of the guys in my class performed because of how dramatic he made it.

Tomorrow I will hopefully not be distracted by Aidan Turner on the TV and will remember what I was going to blog about today. If you already follow me on Twitter, please just give me a gentle nudge tomorrow! @DyslexiaAndMe

How To Donate

Now onto day 15 of my #blogging4charity blogathon! 16 days to go! Almost half way there and would love if you could donate towards my chosen charity, the British Dyslexia Association. The total is currently £80.00 and every penny counts. I know it’s not a marathon or sitting in a bath of beans, but believe me, this is just as challenging for me as both of those other things.

To donate to #blogging4charity, visit my JustGiving page at https://www.justgiving.com/Blog4Char2015. There you can donate from most countries within your own currency. You can donate from across the world through this link.

If you are in the UK you can donate by SMS by texting DAMF51 £1 to 70070. £1 is a guided amount as it is the lowest you can donate in £s. Please note, this is UK ONLY!

Donating through JustGiving is simple, fast and totally secure. Your details are safe with JustGiving – they’ll never sell them on or send unwanted emails. Once you donate, they’ll send your money directly to the charity. So it’s the most efficient way to donate – saving time and cutting costs for the charity.

Posted on March 15, 2015, in #blogging4charity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your comments

