#blogging4charity – Dyslexia, Schools and Blogging

I read a lot of different blogs that discuss experience of dyslexia in school. I have blogged about the topic myself and I always find it very interesting reading other people’s experiences. I thought it would be a great idea to share other dyslexic bloggers experiences with my readers. Please take the time to go and read the individual blogs and to follow these great bloggers.

I am quoting parts of blogs that stood out to me as a dyslexic. There are a few bits of repetition though these are all different people from around the world of varying ages. 

Alternative Wiringhttp://www.alternativewiring.com

I can vividly remember being put out in the hallway with three or four other kids who weren’t “smart enough”, and told to quietly watch a video while the rest of the kids went through the regular class. It felt like a dismissal and punishment. Just shove the trash aside so the worthy could get attention.

From A Brief Personal History of Dyslexia and School

Diverse Learnershttp://www.diverse-learners.co.uk

When I was at school I was told I was obviously bright, but lazy and didn’t try hard enough. I was told this again and again throughout all my years in school. The teachers told my parents this and convinced them of it too.

If everyone you know and trust tells you something, tells you it again and again, eventually it becomes true for you. I accepted I didn’t work hard enough. I accepted I found studying hard because I was lazy.

From The child isn’t lazy, he’s dyslexic

My Dyslexic Bloghttps://mydyslexicblog.wordpress.com

If you ask me what was the worst part of primary school without even thinking I would be able to reply instantly with the answer, 3rd class. this was my first encounter of a teacher who really didn’t know how to handle a child with a learning difficulty. I would get note after note home in my journal as I didn’t have my homework fully done, or because I had failed another spelling test or because I was, in his eyes, lazy. it is at this stage that it becomes very easy for a child to slip through the cracks, frustration began to set in, as did resentment, and anger. why am I not able to read at the same level as all my friends, why am I failing my spelling exams no matter how hard I try, and why am I being punished for this? on several occasions I was sent outside the door by this teacher as he was sick of me slowing down the class.

From Learning Defficulties and Primary School

Chloe Parker – https://chloelouiseparkerphotography.wordpress.com

I have never been interested in science and maths and other academic subjects. I know my strengths are definitely more creative and imaginative subjects, but that doesn’t mean I love to learn and gain knowledge, because that’s the opposite. In year nine I had probably the worst teacher I could have. She was the one with the loudest squeal and would not be happy with you trying your best. I was in set five for English, if your not familiar with this system, its basically a class that’s aiming for a GCSE grade of a low C to a D, whereas in comparison set one aim for A* to A. Anyway, this teacher was determined to put me in set six, the lowest of the bands. I remember getting so upset about this; feeling like I wasn’t trying my hardest or that I was stupid. Eventually someone told me to come to the special needs department at our secondary school, and from there I took a test. No one explained what this test was for or anything that they might think, “I have”.

From DYSLEXIA

Sarah Elsleyhttps://sarahelsleyblog.wordpress.com

It appears that schools don’t FULLY recognise dyslexic students. It is assumed that to have dyslexia means spelling is awful, sentences don’t make sense, words becomes blurred on the page. Yes, these are all symptoms, but not everyone’s dyslexia is the same and I, for example, have none of these symptoms, apart from the occasional spelling problem. My dyslexia is to do with processing speed; I find it difficult to take in lots of new information, and my brain can struggle to make sense of it. This ‘symptom’ has gone unrecognised through my primary school years, my high school years and now I’m halfway through my degree. I’m angry that it wasn’t picked up sooner, as it could have had a huge impact on my grades, and I might even had an extra 25% time and perhaps even a laptop to type on in my exams.

From Dyslexia; My Discovery

Princess diarieshttps://iidatenolahti.wordpress.com

When I found out that I`m dyslextic(in second year of high school),as funny as it may sound, I was feeling relieved. Now I had the reason for my struggles and HARDWORK at school, especially in secondary school and high school. Untill that I just thought that I`m simply stupid.Reading five to six times the book for one test and still feeling like I don`t remember anything.It wasn`t and still isn`t funny at all when your friend gets a 10/10 having just glanced the book once and you`ve got 7 after one week studying and trying your best to succeed as well as your friends. When I coudn`t/ can`t understand the needed things I usually learn them by heart which isn`t the best way to learn things I know.But what can you do when you are always trying to reach the perfection and you don`t have time to read the book 5-6 times!

From Dyslexia- “Ouh, so I`m not stupid just different?”

CHAZZY42https://vivalacoldplay123.wordpress.com

I’ve never had an easy ride with education, it’s always been an exceptional challenge that over time I have become accustomed to in a way. I always remember absolutely hating Junior school and Secondary school. My worst subject seemed to be Maths, I was never ever good at maths and it took me so long to even comprehend or understand what the teacher was going on about half the time. I never liked asking for help, was very shy and I still can be shy now (but nowhere near as bad). My teachers at school never picked up on anything because I was very good at spelling and I sometimes quite enjoyed English. I could read and write well (I thought). The majority of my teachers at Junior school were pretty good apart from this one teacher that I had for quite a couple of years. He was never good to me when it came to solving maths problems out loud, I couldn’t do the problem on paper let alone answer it in front of everyone! It was so embarrassing when I had to tell everyone I didn’t know what the answer was. The rest of them seemed to just get it, they seemed to know the answers in seconds and that made me feel a little down. Because of this, I was put on a table at the back of the class with a few others that had problems understanding and we had a teacher sit with us all to try help.

From MY DYSLEXIA STORY…

Conclusion

These stories are just a small drop in the ocean of blogging about dyslexia across the internet. Some of the bloggers have highlighted the different range of difficulties dyslexics may have. Each of the writers seem to have been diagnosed at different points in their lives and the support they have had has varied to.

The point of today’s blog was to show that dyslexia is not just about reading and writing. I wanted to show that the experiences people have had vary, but there are often similarities when teachers have not been correctly trained to understand dyslexia.

There are many dyslexic people, like myself, who are blogging about our experiences. I personally do so in hope that there is a change in attitude towards dyslexia. I think things have started to change, but we’ve a long way to go.

I know that a number of the bloggers I have quoted have gone on to study at college or university. Dyslexia shouldn’t hold anyone back from academic success, but there does need to be more universal support and understanding from pre-school to the workplace.

In my last week of #blogging4charity I will focus on the positives, but I hope today’s blog has helped to open a few eyes to what needs to change within the education system: better understanding, better teaching of the teachers and better support.

Survey

If any dyslexic students in Higher Education from the UK are reading this blog, please take part in this survey.
http://dyslexiastudy.questionpro.com

It’s for “Battling the Gremlins: The Lived Experiences of Dyslexic Students Studying within Higher Education in the UK” for a student at the University of Derby. All the details are on the link about what the survey is about and all the permissions. This is for UK students in Higher Education only.

How To Donate

Now onto day 16 of my #blogging4charity blogathon! Half way there now and would love if you could donate towards my chosen charity, the British Dyslexia Association. The total is currently £80.00 and every penny counts. I know it’s not a marathon or sitting in a bath of beans, but believe me, this is just as challenging for me as both of those other things.

To donate to #blogging4charity, visit my JustGiving page at https://www.justgiving.com/Blog4Char2015. There you can donate from most countries within your own currency. You can donate from across the world through this link.

If you are in the UK you can donate by SMS by texting DAMF51 £1 to 70070. £1 is a guided amount as it is the lowest you can donate in £s. Please note, this is UK ONLY!

Donating through JustGiving is simple, fast and totally secure. Your details are safe with JustGiving – they’ll never sell them on or send unwanted emails. Once you donate, they’ll send your money directly to the charity. So it’s the most efficient way to donate – saving time and cutting costs for the charity.

Posted on March 16, 2015, in #blogging4charity, Education and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your comments

