#blogging4charity – N is for Nails

I have always been a tomboy. I hated dolls and loved my farm with its little tractor. Although I loved my Care Bears and My Little Ponies, I loved watching Thundercats, He-Man and I wanted Michelangelo the Teenage Mutant Hero Turtle action figure for years. I tend to wear minimal make-up if any at all. But there’s one thing I am very girly about. That’s my fingernails.

When I was young, I used to bite my nails when I was nervous. It was a really bad habit and my dad used to constantly tell me that if I didn’t stop biting my nails I’d end up with ‘piggy fingers’. Now, I don’t know what ‘piggy fingers’ are, but it didn’t sound very nice at all. 

I stopped biting my nails when I was 13. It’s one of the few New Years Resolutions I’ve made and I stuck to it. I wanted to learn to play guitar, but I knew that my fingers would need to toughen up to be able to play. So I stopped biting my nails and started clipping them and painting them.

I have never had my nails done professionally. They are naturally grown. I do use hand creams once in a while and I file my nails rather than clipping them unless they’re very long or there’s a breakage that needs sorting out.

I don’t know how many bottles of nail varnish I own. My current favourite is Rimmel’s Velvet Matt 014 Sumptuous Red. I would take a photo of it but the light in here is really bad at the moment and my nails just look a dark colour.

I love playing with nail varnish though and I’m not afraid of doing silly stuff with colours. Here are some examples of my nail vanity.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

How To Donate

If you didn’t know by now, I am writing a post every day through March to raise money for the British Dyslexia Association. I chose to write every day for a month as for me that is a pretty daunting task! So far I have raised £80.00 for the charity and I need your help to reach my target of £1000.00 by the end of 2015! You can donate as little as £1!

To donate to #blogging4charity, visit my JustGiving page at https://www.justgiving.com/Blog4Char2015. There you can donate from most countries within your own currency. You can donate from across the world through this link.

If you are in the UK you can donate by SMS by texting DAMF51 £1 to 70070. £1 is a guided amount as it is the lowest you can donate in £s. Please note, this is UK ONLY!

Donating through JustGiving is simple, fast and totally secure. Your details are safe with JustGiving – they’ll never sell them on or send unwanted emails. Once you donate, they’ll send your money directly to the charity. So it’s the most efficient way to donate – saving time and cutting costs for the charity.

Posted on March 17, 2015, in #blogging4charity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your comments

