#blogging4charity – O is for Optimism

Optimism is something I need to improve on. I can be a real grump at times and often miss the positives in situations. I could make a thousand excuses for this, but instead I will try to talk about something more optimistic today. 

I grew up in a city filled with cultural heritage. As the capital of Scotland there’s a castle, palace, parliament, several museums, inspiring residents from Hume to Rowling. I grew up visiting the many museums and art galleries breathing in the culture and learning a broad variety of different time periods, people and backgrounds. Being surrounded by so much history inspired me to study it at university level remembering all the great things I had seen in the National Museum on Chamber Street.

I have performed on many stages over the years, from school to the Usher Hall. I’ve performed in school productions, choir concerts, school bands and my own two rock bands when I was a teenager. My dream of being a performer when I was 5 was lived out over a number of years in various situations.

Itchy feet runs in my family and I have lived in Scotland, England and Ireland. I feel most privileged to have lived in Cork for 9 months in my second year at university and travelled to see many historical and cultural sites. The most beautiful place I have ever visited was Clonmacnoise and I will always hold those memories very close to me.

People that I have in my life now are the people who have made me feel the happiest. I’ve got a wonderful family who are very diverse and crazy. My mum is a great inspiration to me as a strong lady who took after her mother with the same strength and determination. My dad is a lot like me in our passions for music and football and I am so happy that we have become closer over the years. My sister is an amazing person. She has done so well for herself in achieving what she’s wanted in life and being very driven in getting there. My step mum helped to bring our family closer together and I dunno where we would be without such a wonderful woman in our lives. My other half is my rock and makes me smile every day with his jokes and his cheeky smile.

I have a number of amazing friends who I’ve met on my journeys too. Having travelled so much I have been lucky enough to meet people from all over the world from Australia to China to Uganda to California. I love their different stories, backgrounds, cultures and quirks. I have a few people who I would class as besties who will remain lifelong friends.

I have gone to three different colleges and two different universities and not only do I have four A’s in my Highers, but I also have a National Certificate and a MA (Hons) undergraduate degree. My qualifications are focused on my two main loves, music and history.

Sometimes we have to step back and look at the positive things that have happened in our lives to see what we’ve achieved and the good things we have. I don’t want to be a millionaire or famous, I want to be happy and content with my life. I think I am on the right track.

How To Donate

Thank you to those of you who have donated. I am at 8% of my target of £1000.00 over the whole of 2015. That’s £80.00 raised for British Dyslexia Association.

To donate to #blogging4charity, visit my JustGiving page at https://www.justgiving.com/Blog4Char2015. There you can donate from most countries within your own currency. You can donate from across the world through this link.

If you are in the UK you can donate by SMS by texting DAMF51 £1 to 70070. £1 is a guided amount as it is the lowest you can donate in £s. Please note, this is UK ONLY!

Donating through JustGiving is simple, fast and totally secure. Your details are safe with JustGiving – they’ll never sell them on or send unwanted emails. Once you donate, they’ll send your money directly to the charity. So it’s the most efficient way to donate – saving time and cutting costs for the charity.

Posted on March 18, 2015, in #blogging4charity, Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your comments

