#blogging4charity – P is for Poetry

I hated English at school. I hated reading out loud and I could never read books in time for the book reviews. However, I LOVED poetry! I love writing it, I loved reading it and I loved analysing it.

I remember when I dropped out of my English class (after asking for help for weeks from school) one of the girls came up to me and said she couldn’t understand why I was dropping out because I was the only person in the class that seemed to ‘get’ poetry. To me a lot of it seemed very obvious to me and I thought it was people just being shy about putting up their hands. Apparently there was more to it than that. 

I found reading between the lines much easier and could see that there was often two messages in the poetry we looked at both at school and college. There was the obvious and there was the ‘hidden message’. I guess being dyslexic and ‘seeing things differently’ meant that I could see the full picture far easier than my peers. Perhaps that was why I enjoy poetry so much.

Now I am away from education I still enjoy reading poetry. I have been reading a lot more the last few months and one my favourite things I read was the poetry of Oscar Wilde. His poetry about his time in prison really moving and gave a real sense of just how horrible the Victorian prisons must have been.

If you like poetry or want to learn a little bit about history (or both) then I would recommend reading The Ballad of Reading Gaol by Oscar Wilde. I found it as a free ebook on iBooks.

I also love poetry by W.B. Yeats and Seamus Heaney as I have mention in my blog last week on Ireland. I don’t know if it’s a coincidence that all my favourite poets have a connection to Ireland. As a Scottish person, I suppose I would probably be expected to rave about Robert Burns, but I haven’t read enough to have felt a connection with Burns.

It’s perhaps a coincidence that when I started studying my family history I found that there was a writer in my family tree, William Turnbull Dobson. He was my great great great grandfather. Among his works includes a book titled Literary frivolities, fancies, follies and frolics which can be found here https://archive.org/details/literaryfrivolit00dobs. I have yet to read it myself, but I did buy one of his books for my gran’s birthday the other year. She was very surprised by my find!

I really need to read more poetry as I do really enjoy it and I want to start writing more again. I have been thinking of pulling all my poetry together into a collection, but I think I need to do more work on that.

How To Donate

I am asking the online nation
To pledge a small donation
For as little as one pound
Would be pretty sound.
And just so there is some clarity
It goes directly to the charity.

To donate to #blogging4charity, visit my JustGiving page at https://www.justgiving.com/Blog4Char2015. There you can donate from most countries within your own currency. You can donate from across the world through this link.

If you are in the UK you can donate by SMS by texting DAMF51 £1 to 70070. £1 is a guided amount as it is the lowest you can donate in £s. Please note, this is UK ONLY!

Donating through JustGiving is simple, fast and totally secure. Your details are safe with JustGiving – they’ll never sell them on or send unwanted emails. Once you donate, they’ll send your money directly to the charity. So it’s the most efficient way to donate – saving time and cutting costs for the charity.

Posted on March 19, 2015, in #blogging4charity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your comments

