#blogging4charity – Q is for Quitting

I was struggling to think of a Q word to write about, so this is a brief blog compared to some of my others in my #blogging4charity series.

The word ‘quit’ seems to have both positive and negative connotations. When people talking about quitting smoking it is seen in a positive light whereas when talking of quitting a job it is often seen as negative without really looking into the reasons why someone would quit. I have quit a number of things in my life for better or worse, but it all seems to have worked out in the end. 

I quit biting my nails in hope to toughen my fingers to play guitar. I remember trying to stop a number of times and I just needed a real incentive to stop. I do have quite an addictive/OCD personality, so quitting a habit can be difficult. Book buying is my current bad habit, so that’s another reason I’ve started reading more, to try to get through all the books I’ve hoarded.

I quit school when I was 17. I wasn’t coping very well by that point and I wasn’t getting the help I needed despite asking for it many times. After I quit I went to college to study music, which was really the only reason I had stayed at school until 6th year. School made me very miserable. I remember being told ‘your school days are the best days of your life’ but most of the memories I have were of utter misery. Quitting school was a very positive move for me, but it wouldn’t take me until years later to realise.

I have thought about quitting writing this blog, especially in the beginning. Sometimes I have looked at other blog posts and wondered how one blogger had 1000 likes on something that seemed really trivial to me and I hadn’t had a look on one of my heartfelt posts. However, I have continued on and have had so much positive feedback from people since I’ve become more involved in the dyslexic community online, especially on Twitter.

Sometimes we have to assess what the positives and negatives of quitting are. With smoking or nail-biting, it’s a habit that has health benefits, but perhaps isn’t as scary as the thought of quitting school or a job. It often takes time to see what the benefits are. For me the biggest thing I quit was school and I do think that it was the best thing I could have done!

How To Donate

To donate to #blogging4charity, visit my JustGiving page at https://www.justgiving.com/Blog4Char2015. There you can donate from most countries within your own currency. You can donate from across the world through this link.

If you are in the UK you can donate by SMS by texting DAMF51 £1 to 70070. £1 is a guided amount as it is the lowest you can donate in £s. Please note, this is UK ONLY!

Donating through JustGiving is simple, fast and totally secure. Your details are safe with JustGiving – they’ll never sell them on or send unwanted emails. Once you donate, they’ll send your money directly to the charity. So it’s the most efficient way to donate – saving time and cutting costs for the charity.

Posted on March 20, 2015, in #blogging4charity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your comments

