#blogging4charity – R is for Regrets

The bittersweet taste of fate
We can’t outrun the past
Destined to find an answer
A strength I never lost
I know there is a way
My future is not set
For the tide has turned
But still I never learned to live
without regret.

Anathema Regret

Regret is something I have had a lot of other the years. Sometimes I play back scenarios in my head of things that I cannot change. I often wonder how I could have done things differently and what the outcome would have been if I had. However, I can’t change the past. 

There are some regrets that I’ve had that I’ve come to realise were completely out of my own hands. For example, I regretted dropping out of school before the end. As I mentioned in yesterday’s blog on ‘Quitting’ it turned out to be the best thing for me in the long-term because I was a very unhappy teenager because of school. I lived with the regret of it for a number of years, but gaining life experience before going back to university was probably the best thing I could have done. I think I’d have dropped out of university if I had gone in my early 20s, especially knowing now that I’m dyslexic which I didn’t have a diagnosis for then.

Regret seems to stick longer with me because I have a very clear long-term memory, so I will suddenly remember a scenario from 10 years ago where I had done something that perhaps upset someone who I no longer have contact with and how I said a specific thing I wish I hadn’t. Other times I regret that I hadn’t done things sooner, like quitting horrible jobs I’ve had in the past where I was treated appallingly.

Right now my regret is not continuing on my volunteer work while at university as I wonder whether or not that would have stood me in better stead for employment now. But I guess I’ll never know so I should really stop worrying about it and make the best out of what I have.

I also regret leaving it so late to post today’s blog as I am due to go out soon so I will have to end the blog here for today. I may have to come back to this topic at a later date.

How To Donate

To donate to #blogging4charity, visit my JustGiving page at https://www.justgiving.com/Blog4Char2015. There you can donate from most countries within your own currency. You can donate from across the world through this link.

If you are in the UK you can donate by SMS by texting DAMF51 £1 to 70070. £1 is a guided amount as it is the lowest you can donate in £s. Please note, this is UK ONLY!

Donating through JustGiving is simple, fast and totally secure. Your details are safe with JustGiving – they’ll never sell them on or send unwanted emails. Once you donate, they’ll send your money directly to the charity. So it’s the most efficient way to donate – saving time and cutting costs for the charity

Posted on March 21, 2015, in #blogging4charity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I have come to a time in my life where I no longer have regrets. There used to be a time when I had loads of the and they would certainly keep me awake at times. I know its an old cliché but without the us and downs in my life I would not have reached the place where I am today. A time and place in my life where I am very happy and fulfilled in my personal and work life. Something I have never experienced before. Anyway one thing is certain we can never change the past but only learn from it. Regrets only spawn negative energy anyway and I need all my energy to be positive so that I can go forward positively.

    Liked by 1 person

Your comments

