#blogging4charity – Dyslexia Friendly

I was going to write about apps, but there are so many apps available I didn’t know where to start. I have so many Twitter accounts for apps that have followed me and I’ve followed back. I have only experience of a few apps and I thought it unfair to write a blog entirely on dyslexia friendly apps that I have never used. Then I started to play about with the apps that I have on my laptop and thought I would try out something new… 

Something new?

I don’t like websites or blogs that use a coloured background. This is because I use my own assistive technology to make the pages work for my specific needs. That’s part of the reason why I left my blog with a white background rather than changing to a blog with a pre-set background colour, though I do realise that not everyone has the assistive technology I have.

This has caused me a dilemma for the last year trying to work out how to make my blog discussing dyslexia and scotopic sensitivity syndrome more accessible to the very people the blog should be supporting.

I just watched a video about one of the apps I use, ClaroRead Plus, and found that there is a way to make text into either a video or an audio file! I was just handed the equipment for me to play around with, so it seems there are a few things that I didn’t even realise I could do!

I have looked into adding audio into my blog posts, but sadly I need to have a Premium account. As I am unemployed that is not going to happen. So I am now considering doing a special Podcast style blog once a month discussing a topic in more depth. It would be read out by my software though as reading out loud has always caused me real nervousness and I’ll end up messing up.

Apps

As I said, I was originally going to discuss various apps today since there are so many on the market that are very similar. The problem is, it doesn’t feel right for me to discuss apps that I haven’t tried out before to see how I feel about them. So, if there are any app designers that would like me to try out apps and review them for the blog, I would be more than happy to. It just feels wrong to plug an app that I have never tried out for myself and say how good it is without knowing how much it’s helped me.

Once #blogging4charity is done, I may do a number of blogs specifically focused on the apps I do have and how useful I have found them.

I’ve had various people ask me if there are any apps that I would recommend. I think that apps are very personal to each user and what may work for me may not work for someone else. That’s why I would rather have a chance to play about with apps and give my own verdict than to plug an app with no real knowledge of how it works.

Interaction

Working out what to blog about is sometimes a tricky task. It’s even harder when trying to blog once per day! I’m glad there are only 9 more days to go!!! I have blogged about apps and assistive technology before and I wonder how many of my readers find these discussions helpful? I really would love your feedback on this.

Conclusion

I’d love to hear your thoughts on my idea of a podcast once a month. Would you listen to an entry into the blog rather than read it?

Do you have an app you would like me to try out? I am more than happy to play with different apps and write reviews on them, but feel a little uncomfortable plugging something I haven’t first hand experience of.

How To Donate

To donate to #blogging4charity, visit my JustGiving page at https://www.justgiving.com/Blog4Char2015. There you can donate from most countries within your own currency. You can donate from across the world through this link.

If you are in the UK you can donate by SMS by texting DAMF51 £1 to 70070. £1 is a guided amount as it is the lowest you can donate in £s. Please note, this is UK ONLY!

Donating through JustGiving is simple, fast and totally secure. Your details are safe with JustGiving – they’ll never sell them on or send unwanted emails. Once you donate, they’ll send your money directly to the charity. So it’s the most efficient way to donate – saving time and cutting costs for the charity

Posted on March 22, 2015, in #blogging4charity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your comments

