#blogging4charity – T is for Twitter

I didn’t see the point of it before but I absolutely LOVE Twitter now. I’ve been using it to advertise this blog of mine, but have found out in the last year just how wonderful Twitter is for interacting with people across the world.

It’s great for raising awareness and for finding like-minded people without being swamped with all the personal details and dramas of Facebook. I can Tweet as often as I like without people kicking off which is great because my short-term memory is so bad that if I don’t get something out of my head then I lose it completely.

But my favourite thing about Twitter is… Twitter chats! 

I try to get involved as much as I can on Twitter chats that discuss accessibility or education. My favourite chat is #AXSChat which happens every Tuesday night 8-9pm GMT and discusses accessibility in technology. Though I am not technologically minded, I love bringing my views forward from a dyslexic perspective. I use apps in my everyday life to support and enable me to do things others take for granted such as an ease to read through a colour changing app or an app that reads out loud to me.

#AXSChat brings together such a wide range of people from around the world and each week we discuss a series of questions. Sometimes the questions are right up my street, other times I get very lost either by the wording or because I know nothing on that topic. When I do get stuck on wording, someone usually helps me out by explaining what is meant. It’s not just accessibility for people with dyslexia but for everyone, so there is a real range of wonderful people with different experiences. We’ve discussed accessibility in web sites to accessibility in the games industry.

I love education chats too like #LDChat and #Spedchat where I can add my own experiences of the education system to the mix of teachers and parents. It’s a great way to give something back and to hopefully inspire change in the education system.

I love chats so much that I started my own monthly dyslexia chat, #DDChat, to try to get more people discussing a variety of topics that relate to dyslexia. There is a fantastic dyslexia community on Twitter so it’s a great way to bring people together with all their different experiences.

The only downside of Twitter is the lack of characters you can use, so abbreviations are used a lot. That’s sometimes difficult when you’re dyslexic and trying to fathom out what it means. For example, #a11y means ‘accessibility’. On the other hand, it means you can’t waffle so you really have to think how to make your point clear enough for people to understand. That makes it brilliant for these types of chat.

If you haven’t signed up to Twitter, I would recommend at least having a look at it. It takes a bit of getting used to and takes time to find all the wonderful dyslexia groups and advocates, but once you find them you’ll see how great a community there is.

How To Donate

It’s the final full week to donate to #blogging4charity. Visit my JustGiving page at https://www.justgiving.com/Blog4Char2015. There you can donate from most countries within your own currency. You can donate from across the world through this link.

If you are in the UK you can donate by SMS by texting DAMF51 £1 to 70070. £1 is a guided amount as it is the lowest you can donate in £s. Please note, this is UK ONLY!

Donating through JustGiving is simple, fast and totally secure. Your details are safe with JustGiving – they’ll never sell them on or send unwanted emails. Once you donate, they’ll send your money directly to the charity. So it’s the most efficient way to donate – saving time and cutting costs for the charity

Posted on March 24, 2015, in #blogging4charity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your comments

