#blogging4charity – W is for Writing

One thing I would really like to do is to write a book. I have an idea of what I want to write about and I have now began some work on it. It’s a fantasy book that I started writing notes on while I was in my final year at university. I don’t want to give anything away though so I won’t give any plot ideas away.

I have begun working on the foundations and background so that I have a framework to work to. I am currently putting together the genealogies of the main families involved. From there I am making a timeline of their main family events such as birth, deaths and marriages. Once I have all the main families plotted out into a timeline then I plan on working on how to build the story around them. 

I think this may be a strange way of working it out. For me, making the story as lifelike as possible is crucial. I do know where the story is going and I know my key story points, but I really want to get my foundations in place before I start writing anything.

I had thought of names for my characters, but I have gone back to square one with it. I can’t decide on whether to use names people are already familiar with or to go for something completely different. I guess with it being a fantasy book I really can go either way with this, but it’s something I have planned to go back to once I’ve plotted the characters out.

That may also sound strange. I have a kings list and I have nicknames for them. I know roughly how many children they have too. I have the first 200-300 years started. I’m working on a second family in a very similar way.

Maps are something I am thinking about working on too. I do have an idea for that too as the story is based on islands. It’s another area I am really going to have to think about.

So many ideas, I just need the structure in place before I get started so I don’t let my imagination wander too far to the point that it no longer make sense.

I know there are loads of fantasy novels already available so I have ideas to try to make what I write a little bit different. I will need to see how it develops and I will keep you all posted on the progress I make with it.

How To Donate

It’s the final week to donate to #blogging4charity. Visit my JustGiving page at https://www.justgiving.com/Blog4Char2015. There you can donate from most countries within your own currency. You can donate from across the world through this link.

If you are in the UK you can donate by SMS by texting DAMF51 £1 to 70070. £1 is a guided amount as it is the lowest you can donate in £s. Please note, this is UK ONLY!

Donating through JustGiving is simple, fast and totally secure. Your details are safe with JustGiving – they’ll never sell them on or send unwanted emails. Once you donate, they’ll send your money directly to the charity. So it’s the most efficient way to donate – saving time and cutting costs for the charity

Posted on March 28, 2015, in #blogging4charity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your comments

