#blogging4charity – X is for Xenarthran

As you may have guessed, trying to find another word beginning with X that was different to my last #blogging4charity was always going to be a challenge. And so I have decided to go with Xenarthran!

Xenarthran – an ancient lineage of mammals comprising the armadillos (order Cingulata) and the sloths and anteaters (order Pilosa). The namesake feature shared by all members of Xenarthra is seen in the lower backbone. The lumbar vertebrae are “xenarthrous”; that is, they have extra contacts (joints, or arthroses) that function to strengthen the lower back and hips. This aids use of the forelegs in activities not associated with locomotion, such as digging-the primary method used by anteaters and armadillos to obtain food.

I love armadillos, sloths and anteaters and was unaware of this lineage until I decided to look up a word beginning with X. They are all quite odd-looking mammals but they’ve all appeared in some adverts on TV that have really stuck with me over the years.

I had a song stuck in my head the other day and for some reason every time I hear it I think of ants. Here is the reason why.

It’s not just anteaters that have left me with an impression years later. I still randomly say ‘armadillos!’ in an accent because of this advert from around the same time.

Most recently there has been Neal the Sloth advertising sofas. My mum loves Neal the Sloth as she likes to liken him to me. She used to nickname me ‘the sloth’ because as a student the first time around, I really liked my bed a bit too much. I still do but I am far more aware of the amount of time I sleep and also the reasons why I like to shut my eyes and rest more often than other people.

Anteaters, armadillos and sloths are perhaps not the most appreciated animals compared to say lions, pandas and elephants, but they have all done very well in helping brands to successfully advertise themselves on TV. Hooray for Xenarthran’s!

How To Donate

It’s the final few days to donate to #blogging4charity. Visit my JustGiving page at https://www.justgiving.com/Blog4Char2015. There you can donate from most countries within your own currency. You can donate from across the world through this link.

If you are in the UK you can donate by SMS by texting DAMF51 £1 to 70070. £1 is a guided amount as it is the lowest you can donate in £s. Please note, this is UK ONLY!

Donating through JustGiving is simple, fast and totally secure. Your details are safe with JustGiving – they’ll never sell them on or send unwanted emails. Once you donate, they’ll send your money directly to the charity. So it’s the most efficient way to donate – saving time and cutting costs for the charity.

Posted on March 29, 2015, in #blogging4charity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your comments

