Dyslexia and Me: Treading Water

There are only so many hours in a day…

I have been finding myself very overwhelmed the last few weeks. I started a new job, which is the best job I have had and I love it a lot. I am only working part-time so I have loads of spare time to do other things like blogging, genealogy, listening to music, writing reviews, writing ideas for my books, pulling together questions for #DDChat, joining in other Twitter chats, watching Game of Thrones… 

Yes, I have so many things I want to do and I have been finding myself overwhelmed by all the things I want or need to do. Because I don’t have any real structure at the moment, I am struggling to work out what I need to do and what I want to do. I haven’t been reading as much as I was and I have been spending a lot of time doing genealogy. It’s something that I get very carried away doing. However, that means I end up neglecting the other things I want to do.

I find organising my time extremely difficult. It hasn’t been made any easier with travelling home to see family twice in two weeks or the fact I ended up in A&E after hurting my back which lead me to resting up rather than continuing with my new love of walking.

I had started making up calendars of things that needed to be done, especially in regards to housework. Once I have a structure in place, I do find it quite difficult to go out of my routine. Working part-time without a set day throws me off a little bit. I love my job to bits, it’s my need for routine that’s throwing me off rather than the job itself.

When I’m as overwhelmed as I feel just now I have a terrible habit of burying my head in the sand. I know I need to do something to help myself but I find it so hard to structure without input or help from others or from life structuring itself for me.

If anyone has any tips on how to organise or bring structure into your life, I would be very grateful for your help!

Posted on May 15, 2015, in Awareness, Blogging and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I really struggle with structuring my day, too. I use the Jorte calendar app on my phone to try allotting a certain period of time each day to the tasks I need to carry out for the assorted types of writing I do, but I seem to have a hard time sticking with the schedule. I need to work on my self-discipline more.

    In my case, something happens to mess up my rhythm once I finally get it, and I’m thrown off for good.

    To-do lists help me, as do small monthly rewards for completing my self-determined goals.

    Liked by 1 person

    • See that’s what I was thinking of doing, making a sort of timetable for my day but I wouldn’t know where to start with it.

      Yeah I understand that too! I might have to be a little bit less precious about my time.

      See I don’t think monthly will help me. I think I need something even more structured or I will end up wandering off into my own little world and then cursing myself for not doing the things I meant to.

      Ugh! Haha 🙂

      Like

  2. teresa robinson

    Its easier for me to have a structure in work as I have my online calendar which pops up and alerts me . This is great for when I am in work but outside chaos , however I have a timer (physically on my desk) and on my phone and I always put my timer on for 30 mins when I am “off activity ” ie just checking my Facebook otherwise a day can get by and I haven’t done anything

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your comment. Yeah that’s the problem I have, my days have started to turn into ‘I haven’t done anything’ a lot since working part time. At university I had a calendar linked to my email so I had updates on my phone and email. I think I will have to find a way to incorporate that back into my life.

      Like

Your comments

