Siri and me

today’s blog is going to be a little bit different from normal because I’m using the help of Siri on my iPad. (why no capital letter?) I’m not going to edit any of what I’ve put in today (I have added edits in brackets) and it will have all the mistakes that Siri has made. This is my second attempt at trying to write the blog because

…Siri keeps freezing just like that. I never had to use speech to text while I was at university. My particular dyslexia makes it harder for me to read rather than writing. 

…The three dots indicator (indicate where) Siri has frozen on me. I was in the middle tell you a story. It becomes very frustrating when you’re trying to tell you something and I (it) can’t seem to keep up. It’s kind of like my hand when I’m trying to write by (my)

…my thoughts onto paper. It does seem a cheaper option than some of the text to speech (that was my fault! I meant speech to text) but it’s highly frustrating.

So reading for me is a lot more difficult than writing. So I never needed to use text-to-speech (+ when) I was at university or college either. So this is my first real attempt are using text-to-speech and I’m glad I never used at university.

When speaking in a conversation its former easy to keep the flow of what you’re trying to say. But trying to say into Siri what’s in my head seems extremely difficult I find it much easier to type down my thoughts from my head.

…I have to keep pausing myself to work out what I’m going to Turkey next. That should’ve been tell you next not Turkey. (that was a spoken edit) My brain seems to work a little bit faster than my processing speeds (-s) so even when I speak it is (+ as) difficult for me to say what I’m thinking as it is for me to write by hand.

…typing gets (gives) me a little bit more time to work out what it is I want to say. Give (+s) me time to pause and read over what I’ve already said why am trying to dictate to Siri exactly (this doesn’t make sense, and I can’t work out what I actually said to correct it) what I’m wearing (wanting) to say in one go.

Having my computer read to me saved me a lot of time and a lot of strain on my eyes and stop me from getting as many headaches. But I feel I’m getting more of a headache trying to get Siri to work for me and take one want to say to you. (I have no idea what I said there to correct it, but that definitely wasn’t what I said like in the last paragraph) I am surprised though that Siri is managing to pick up most of my accent. I was expecting the video of the two men in the elevator trying to get for (to get to floor) 11

…and the computer not understanding what they were saying. I’m not putting on an American or an Irish or any other accent just my own. (you’ll need to look for the link on Youtube to understand that reference)

I guess for some dyslexic people Siri would be a good option to use as a free speech to text if they have an iPad or an iPhone. But for someone like me I find it highly irritating

…and it (I) won’t be using it again to write a blog. Unless it’s for a little bit of fun if someone wants me to do another experiment using Siri as a text to spell…

Okay that time is my fault my brain go too far ahead of my mouth which is not unusual. I should have said speech to text not text to speech. Text-to-speech is why (what)

…what I actually need to help me with my dyslexia.

Thank you very much for reading this bizarre experiment. I won’t do this weekend any time soon

…when did again sound like weekend? Or (oooooh) Siri.

This was fun…

Posted on May 18, 2015, in Awareness, Education and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I was just thinking of doing something similar with the auto-correct on my phone, because so many of the sentences end up so absurd.

    Android has a similar program, I believe it’s the S Voice app, but I don’t think I’d want to actually write an entry with it. I usually just use it for sending texts, making lists or scheduling events, since writing is where my dyslexia seems to hit me hardest.

    I did download a free app that comes with speech-to-text and handwriting capabilities to my tablet a while ago. Still haven’t played around with it yet. Maybe I’ll give it a try this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great minds!!! Yeah the one about Turkey was very strange haha! Autocorrect is similar in it’s mistakes. I have started writing a short story and used my iPad to start it off before sending it to my laptop and opening it in Word. It had so many mistakes that I wouldn’t have made myself that was really frustrating!

      Liked by 1 person

      • LOL Yeah.

        That’s the problem with many speech-to-text programs. If they’re good, they do eventually learn to adjust to your cadences and whatnot, but others? Not so much.

        I like Dragon, even though I haven’t used it since my external microphone bit the dust.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Siri and me « Dyslexia and Me | dyslexiaplus+

  2. Pingback: Siri and me | doreenjank

Your comments

