Dyspraxia and Me: These Boots Were Made For Walking…

Boots

One thing I really hate is shopping for new shoes! I have awkward sized feet, I’m a UK 5 1/2 and my feet are wide. Finding shoes that I like that fit me has always been a struggle. Not only is it hard to find shoes in my size that I like, but they have to be flat shoes. I can’t walk in heels. Every time I’ve tried walking even in tiny heels, I’ve ended up falling over or twisting my ankle.

I had a job interview back in January and I only had one pair of smart black shoes. They were little ballet style shoes that I’d picked up for my graduation in July last year. They were perfect for interviews… but not in January in Scotland! Brrrr! So I had to venture around the high street stores in search of some smart black shoes or boots that would be interview worthy. I found these lovely boots (pictured above) in New Look. Not only did I like how they looked but they were wide fit and comfortable and didn’t have a high heel! Perfect!

It was a good thing too! The day of the interview we had heavy snow. I almost didn’t make it to the interview because all the buses in the town centre had been cancelled. Though there were no grips on the boots, they were ideal for keeping my wee toes dry in the snow (though my feet were like ice blocks despite two pairs of socks).

They were the first boots/shoes I had bought where I didn’t end up with blisters. Breaking in new shoes is just as bad as shopping for new shoes and just as painful. A few years ago I bought a new pair of trainers (sneakers) that fitted me fine in the store but ended up being the most painful shoes I’ve had. It was so bad that when I was walking home I had to take them off and walk over a mile in just my socks! I received some disgusted looks from people I passed by. If only they had seen on the blood around my heels and ankles from the shoes I’m sure they’d have understood.

Like many things in life, these lovely boots were not all they first appeared to be. When I started a new job, I needed smart black shoes, so the boots were ideal. Or so I thought. I knew a new job where I was standing on my feet all day would lead to pains in my legs and feet but little did I realise how the pain would linger.

My boots had started to feel more like slippers than outside boots. I wore them on a walk of a mile and on the way back I suddenly felt a searing pain in my left ankle. I almost had to hop the rest of the way home (normally a 2 minute walk that ended up being 10 mins). I found myself avoiding putting too much pressure on my left ankle which was far more difficult to do when standing at work. A week after hurting my ankle I found myself in A&E having pulled a muscle in my back at work after leaning over. I wasn’t picking anything up! I simply leaned and ended up on painkillers for the next week.

Boot Heel

Perhaps if I looked at the boots I’d have had an indication as to why this had happened in the first place. The wear on my left boot was far worse than on the right. I have always been told I run or walk funny which I know is linked to dyspraxia. The wear is on the inside of the heel which had worn smoothly away. But the heel itself had also began to collapse. You can see the crack on the top right of the picture, but there is another where the heel met the rest of the shoe. That kind of wear I could understand if I was wearing them all the time from January until May when I ended up in hospital, but I had only worn them for a month and at my two interviews for jobs (in January and April).

I dug out my old Dr Marten boots and started wearing them when I wasn’t at work, wearing these boots only when I had work (which wasn’t a lot in June with working part-time) and ended up getting a new pair of shoes for my birthday in July from Primark that looked a lot sturdier. I put the boots to one side in case of emergency (I hate throwing shoes away until I’ve not worn them for about 6 months, just in case of an emergency).

Since May I have had a lot of pain in my ankle. When I go out walking I wear a tube bandage over my socks before putting on my Dr Marten boots as support until it’s fully recovered. However, this week the pain is back as I had a shoe emergency that brought the boots back into use for one day!

Shoe

I went to Edinburgh for a few days last weekend. One of my other big hates is cobblestones. They always cause me loads of difficulties walking. I can’t keep my balance on them and my feet go all over the place wobbling uncomfortably. So much so that I managed to destroy my replacement work shoes which I had taken with me (as I travelled straight after work and needed to wear them while in Edinburgh for an event). I completely cracked the sole of the shoe open! Cobbles!!!!!!!

I literally had no time to buy new shoes before work again and my ballet style shoes were not suitable for my place of work. I was glad I had kept my boots for an emergency. Who’d have thought that cobbles would end up costing me yet another pair of shoes?

Not only did I remember why I had discarded the boots, but I ended up in more pain with my ankle! Straight after work I went to buy more new shoes so I could actually walk home. I was almost crying with the pain in my ankle. That was four days ago and my ankle is still aching. The boots are going in the next bin bag along with my shoes with the split sole. I just seem to have such a nightmare with shoes!

Sometimes I wish I could just wear my Dr Marten boots all the time. They’re the only type of shoe that I’ve ever been happy wearing.

Posted on September 21, 2015, in Personal Experience and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Your comments

